Missing markdown method in ActionView::Base

I am trying to get Gitorious running on my own server. Everything is working OK, but I get this error when I try to view a project page:

NoMethodError in Projects#show

Showing projects/show.html.erb where line #5 raised:
undefined method `markdown’ for #

A google search pops up this page which led me to believe that I didn’t have BlueCloth installed properly. Turns out the BlueCloth gem is case sensitive, so I had to do a

gem install BlueCloth

Because, as it turns out, in vendor/rails/actionpack/lib/action_view/helpers/text_helpers.rb file it only adds the markdown method if it finds BlueCloth. I’m still a little sketched out by how much generated code is in a typical rails app. But I guess as you get further along, you start to learn which is generated and which is not.

I did have to restart the mongrel server before the error went away, which kind of sucks. On a production system, restarting the server would be pretty traumatic, and shouldn’t be necessary for adding a new package. Seems like a bug that putting a restart.txt file in the app’s tmp directory didn’t exist.

That’s not something I’m going to take on right now though. Gitorious is working, so I’ll keep working on adding stuff.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Missing markdown method in ActionView::Base”

  1. Steve Spigarelli Says:

    Thanks for your post. That helped me get my site back up – I guess I forgot that BlueCloth was the implementation of markdown I would need.

Leave a Reply

